Author Topic: how to configure programs under proxy?  (Read 10830 times)

finefish

• Post Rank: 2
    • View Profile
how to configure programs under proxy?
« on: September 17, 2007, 03:56:55 AM »
I'm not sure izzit i post it to wrong spot but I'm really a newbie to deal with a proxy...

hello guys, here is a problem coming to me and I can't figure it out... please to lent me a hand

my OS: windows vista home basic

problem:
When I try to play around with all the services (such as msn, updates and BT, etc.) it work well without a proxy. For now, cause of some reason I must stay the connection under a proxy and everything need to configure again,
Now what I done are only the IE and firefox connections, but some other services (such as msn, updates and BT, etc.) are not working... because some of them never provide any proxy configuration (I think those may expect user direct connect to Internet), and also some of it do not work after configuration. How can i configure and use them? Can anybody give me a solution?

Thanks,

P/S: I'm sure all the key ports are available

Terry

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: how to configure programs under proxy?
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2007, 11:50:32 PM »
MSN uses the proxy settings of IE.
Updates may use the proxy settings of IE.
BT software may not support HTTP proxies.
Elite Proxy Switcher - Easily testing and using proxies.
Socks Proxy Checker - To be your chief socks proxy checker.
Buy Proxy - Buy checked proxies from My-Proxy easily and quickly.

finefish

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2007, 03:29:09 AM »
First to thanks for your kindly reply. I did it in IE but it still not working, am I taken the wrong way? or something I miss to touch?

my way to do it:
Tools >> connections >> LAN setting >> checked "use a proxy server for your LAN (These...)" >>> key in my proxy address and port: 80 >> checked "Bypass proxy server for local address"

finefish

• View Profile